Details: The Accessories

I really struggled with the accessories. I purchased a Haute Bride necklace that I didn’t actually wear, and didn’t find shoes until the day before the wedding. Of course we’d purchased shoes (3 pair!) for the wedding, but with an outside ceremony, and the fact that I was pregnant, I really didn’t want some skinny heels sinking into the ground every time I stepped out of doors.

The shoes – just some bright kicks I found at Famous Footwear (how uncool, I know!) – they were comfy for the entire day, and the color was nice and bright, so they fit the bill. Bonus: they were only $50.

B564

The hairpiece – I ordered this lovely piece as a birdcage veil from Twigs and Honey on Etsy. Myra didn’t really “get” my concept of the veil that would sweep across the face (at the time, she didn’t get it, she’s since made dozens that echo that look) – but her work is so great, I decided to keep it and make it work. With a little repositioning, it turned out to be fantastic! The piece cost about $70.

B259

The earrings – I ordered my earrings from Haute Bride. I love their delicate filigree look, and adored the art deco feel the invoked. Their styles have changed in the last year or so, but there are similar styles on their site.

B058

The necklace – I was really on the fence on this front. My dear husband gave me a strand of akoya pearls for Christmas last year, and I really do love them. I look forward to the day, years from now, when I can give them to our daughter. But I also received another strand of pearls, just weeks before the wedding. The difference between the two was the clasps – and since the new strand had a white gold clasp, I chose to wear that one. In hindsight, my husband and I are both a bit sad that I didn’t wear the ones he gave me, because of the sentimental value, but either way, the pearls looked stunning on our wedding day.

B104

The bracelet – my something borrowed, my sister Shaunessy let me borrow a 3-strand pearl bracelet with a brooch centering them. Thanks little sister!

B105

All photos taken by Laura Ivanova – and cannot be reproduced or used, on the web or otherwise, without permission.

Leave a Reply

