Details – The DIY Photobooth

As I mentioned before, we decided to do a DIY photobooth. We borrowed those tripod/stands with clips to hold the backdrop, and put together a box of props. We hired a local photography student to man the booth for 2 hours.

Costs:
photographer: $30
props: est. $30
backdrop: we went with fabric we had on hand, instead of the $30 shower curtain

total cost = $60

Here are a few shots:

My brother, sister, mom and I
family_photobooth

Sister and friend
photobooth_shauniandsam

guest
photobooth_travis

We had the DJ announce and recommend the booth a few times.

My only regret is that we didn’t get more photos!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Our DIY Photobooth « Engageology
  2. James
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 10:24:31

    Hey, the pics look great! (Especially the overhead lighting). I did a similar thing for a wedding, but instead of having someone man the camera I made the software that works just like a real photobooth… you press the “go” button, then it takes 3 pictures in a row (waiting while you reposition & make a different face), then it shows you all 3 and prints them in strips. It’s worked great and was a huge hit. It’s funny that there aren’t more DIY photobooths out there… some on google, but not many.

    You don’t mention when you printed the pics… one of the cool things out my setup is that I had a printer attached to the photobooth software, so the photo strips were printed out immediately after the picture was taken. It was great, and I think a lot of people took more pictures once they saw their first ones come out.

    Reply

  3. Candy@VeganBride.com
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 09:58:30

    love, love LOVE this idea!!! Thank you!!! 🙂 C

    Reply

  4. Melanie
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 11:25:03

    James 🙂
    Does it work with Nikon?!
    (Canon cameras are cool too… but I’m a Nikon chick!) 😉

    Reply

    • James
      Sep 15, 2009 @ 16:28:17

      Melanie, it doesn’t yet, but I plan to have that soon. Send me a message at photobooth at seemonkey.net, I can tell you what my plans are. Also, I’d love to know what kind of event your planning for. Thanks!

      Reply

      • Denise
        May 19, 2011 @ 11:47:24

        I’m thinking about putting together a DIY photobooth…is this software still available? Also, do you need a special printer to print the pics out instantly? Sorry, I’m not techy –at all–I don’t know anything about this stuff!

      • James
        May 19, 2011 @ 13:26:39

        Hey Denise, yes – the software is still up at seemonkey.net. You don’t need a special printer – just one that will print photos is fine. If you want, you can email me directly at admin@seemonkey.net – that might be easier than the comments here. But either is fine.
        Thanks,
        -James

Leave a Reply

