Our Invitations

As I mentioned before, my “easy” task of taking on the invitations turned into a LOT of work (learning Illustrator — well sort of), trimming down sheets of 30×22 paper by hand (the copy shops couldn’t trim anything larger than 20″), and sending design elements to Boxcar Press (I couldn’t recommend them enough!).

I ended up going with the fabulous Dick & Jane Letterpress in Saint Paul, Minnesota to do the printing. They found me on Etsy (Alchemy) and offered to print the invites for me for a low price, since I already had the paper and plates ready.

They were kind enough to let me run a few of each of the cards through (insert paper, pull the lever, print on card, release lever, remove card, insert new card, all while pumping the treadle with my foot — just like I’ll do with my Kelsey 7*11).

Here’s what the reception cards and response cards looked like upon completion.

wedding_invites1

I was a little bummed that I designed the copy too close to the edge, thus losing some of the tree trunk when the designs were printed, but I still think they turned out darned cool, and different than any other invite I’ve ever seen. The tree was taken from a stock photo and I edited it in Vector Magic. The fonts are Occidental and Scriptina.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 12:37:01

    They look great!!

    Reply

  2. A
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 18:12:58

    It was worth it; they look great!

    Reply

  3. Michelle @ My Wedding Report
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 23:24:01

    They look fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

