Design Help for the Graphically Stunted

A designer, I am not. Yet, I love creating stuff in PhotoShop, Illustrator, InDesign, etc.

I still haven’t gotten the hang of live trace or vectorizing stuff on my computer, so I use a brilliant cheat.

I needed a vector image for my letterpress printing plates, and I was somewhat horrified at the aspect of me trying to figure out HOW to make it look good and not waste 73 hours working on it (my learning curve is… steep on these programs).

I stumbled onto Vector Magic one day, and I have to got to say that I use it frequently. All you do is upload your image, tweak the settings (super easy!), choose the colors you want (you can use the colors pre-selected by the program, or your own), and vectorize it. Usually, I mess with it to create a few different versions before I download the final product.

If you’re designing your own invites and using a photo or other piece of art, it’s truly a godsend.

Here’s my path to vectorized tree for my wedding invitations:

The original photo — I purchased this stock image online.
tree-image
Post-PhotoShop (trimmed it down, removed background) — don’t worry, it doesn’t have to be “perfect”
tree-image-copy
Vectorized!
tree_image_copy

Believe me, I know I’m not even sub-par at this… but I’m satisfied with the results, and that’s what really matter 😉

Stay tuned… you might even see our wedding invitations with this tree in action 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 14:13:43

    I always wondered how designers created those lovely flower “outline” style images … Shows you how much I know!

    Jeez, with that knowledge, even I could design my own invitations. Imagine that.

    Reply

  2. Zoliepup
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 20:38:42

    Thanks! We need to do this, so your post is timely…

    Reply

  3. Michelle @ My Wedding Report
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 15:01:33

    Thanks for the tips. We are entering the graphic design phase now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

