Marketing Plan

I’ve gotta hand it to these guys, they’ve got it figured out.

The BTB has been bombarding me with web sites, options and more options. I’ve looked over cakes, photographers, fabrics, and food. I’ve discussed what will hang from the ceilings and the best style of dress. I’ve glossed over more times than I can count and we’re just getting started.

Long story short, I’m lost.

One thing I know for sure though is that these sites and stores all have one thing in common. They all focus on her and it’s obvious in every little thing I look at.

The photographers have songs about love and romance on their sites. They have more pictures of the bride’s shoes than they do of the groomsmen.

The men’s wedding bands are practically hidden and the bookstores pile up books with flowers and lace on the covers. Hell, even the caterers focus on foods that women typically like.

I’m trapped. I have no way out. It really was over before it even started.  She’s in seventh heaven and I’ve fallen into the seventh circle of hell.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. schierling
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 04:28:37

    My husband found that the best way to handle the “seventh circle of hell” was to just detach himself and go with what the bride wanted. Actually I am kidding, it is really very sad that men seem to feel that way when they get married, everyone really does forget that there are two people getting married, and it is not just the bride’s day, but rather it is the couple’s day to remember. I hope in the end it all works out for you and you actually enjoy the day!

    Reply

  2. groom-to-be
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 05:56:45

    Is it that everyone forgets or that men feel like their opinion rarely matters so they just give up?

    I tend to think that most males feel the way I do. They get overwhelmed by the details, feel like it won’t matter in the end, and give up. I think, because of the level of interest women show in weddings and the fact that every bit of marketing is designed around what women want, that most men just assume it’s the bride’s day.

    What’s wrong with us wanting the bride to be happy? What’s the point in her feeling like we ruined some aspect of it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

