Engagement Ring Mania

I knew the engagement ring thing would be tricky. I didn’t think it would be easy at all. The more I get into it, though, the harder it’s getting. Harder than even I expected.

I love the process that Brian at Landmark is walking me through. He takes his time, he talks about the stones, and he’s not pushy. He’s a salesman, don’t get me wrong, but he’s not pushing too hard and he lets me think things through.

No, the hard part is containing the excitement. I mean, I love the ring we’re putting together. I’m totally into the process. I’m completely into the numbers game. From that perspective, this is a blast.

That said, I can’t let her in on it. I can’t let her know what we’re doing, where we’re at or when this is coming. I want an element of surprise to the whole thing so to maintain that, I’ve got to shut it down.

It’s hard not to just bust out and tell her, but I’ve got to be strong. I’ve got to look into her eyes and say, “No, we’re not talking about this.” and actually live up to it.

Ugh. It’s not going to be easy to keep this up. I’m bound to ruin it…

Anyone got any words of encouragement? I could sure use some right now.

Leave a Reply

