The First Mention Of A Ring

A Wedding RingI’d been thrilled with our relationship, but I wasn’t sure when the ring-speak would begin. Could I start it? Would he need to open up that conversation?

Well, he brought it up first, while we were in Playa del Carmen. When he mentioned it, he asked if I had a stone-size in mind. This is something that I was not willing to negotiate on, thanks to my friend Ashley. When her now-husband asked how big she wanted to go, she said, “Oh, I don’t care, less than a carat is fine.” But, I know that she wishes it were bigger, most days of the week.

So, I said, “Oh, 1 carat or bigger.” The groom’s eyes just about popped out of his head. After a few minutes, he was like, “Really? I was thinking like 1/2 or 3/4 carat.”

Hmmm, I know it’s just a gemstone set in metal, but I want one that I’ll love forever (or at least until an anniversary-upgrade).

This is something I was not willing to negotiate.

So, being the impatient woman I am, we set out to find a carat, to see if we were *actually* on the same page and just didn’t know it.

We checked out a few jewelry stores, of which there were few carats. We finally found a store with a ring with an even 1.00 carat stone.

Guess what? THAT size was what he was thinking of. Phew. So we both win.

Leave a Reply

